Faith Seeking Wisdom: A Prophetic Approach to Our Time


Waging Wisdom

child reading a BibleThe title of this post refers to a sermon I preached last December to the hospitable Evangelical congregation of Trinity Community Church. I was quite nervous in the pulpit because I knew it would not be the kind of Evangelical preaching that most Evangelicals would be accustomed to hearing on a Sunday morning. I would not be talking theology. Instead, I had felt compelled to share some challenging biblical insights and personal experiences to indicate ways in which good citizens of all faiths, or no faith at all, have a responsibility to work toward ending “the logic of violence” in this country and replacing it with the peaceable wisdom of God.

As I say, I was nervous and misspoke a few times as a result, such as when I used the word “church” but meant “mosque,” though the congregation understood what was meant. I was also nervous because I was…

View original post 260 more words

By Alexandru Nădăban Posted in 2014

Leave a Reply

